Introducing Kasper!

Posted on

Updated: September 8, 2011

I’ve decided to write about my pets in no particular order, so here’s Kasper!

Kasper is my male cobalt blue budgie. He has been with me for over two years now. I got him from a pet store when he was around 4 – 6 months old. He was originally bought with another budgie named Khloe. (You can read more about her here: The Story of My Life With Birds)

I actually had worked with Kasper and had him hand tame for a while. He would step up without hesitation, and sing along with me if I was talking to him. Now he avoids my hands and gets startled at any quick movements that I make. This is pretty normal behavior for most budgies because it is their instinct to avoid anything unfamiliar, but since Kasper was tame before this, I’m concerned that there is something wrong. I plan on working on him and gradually get him to open up again without forcing him to by using positive reinforcement.

Leave a Reply

