Toys and a Play-Gym

Posted on

I was taking a look at the birds’ setup today, and I noticed that they didn’t have much toys to play with. I could have sworn that they had more toys, but I guess they don’t.

This got me thinking, and it inspired me to try to start planning and designing a new play-gym for them. I’d also like to start making home-made toys. I know that the play-gym will need to be durable, easy to clean, appealing, and definitely safe for the birds, so I’ll be sure to plan this out thoroughly.

I’ve even made a list of the things that I’d like to include in it:

  • Food/Water Containers
  • Bathing Area
  • Swing
  • Ladder/Bridge
  • Various Perches
  • Foraging Area
  • Shredding Toys
  • Mirror
  • Climbing Area
  • Extra Hooks for Toys

I’m not all that skilled with building things like this, but I thought that I should give it a try at least. Maybe I should also build it with one of those types of flooring which is easy to clean off. I think it’s called melamine, but I’ll have to look it up. The metal should be stainless steel, and the wood, I’m not too sure about quite yet.

Tomorrow I’ll be posting my ideas for home-made toys, so stick around! 🙂

Leave a Reply

