Indecisive

Posted on

(I was meaning to post this about 5 days ago, but for some reason it never published.)

A couple of days ago I noticed that there was something weird-looking on Koko’s face. I was actually really worried that there might be something wrong, but after I looked again I knew what it was. Once I checked, I found that Koko had gone out of condition because her cere was getting clear. The brown crusty part was falling off, but the funny thing about it was that only half of it was clear! Her other half was still the brown crustiness that it usually is. She is a very indecisive girl. She doesn’t know if she wants to be in or out of breeding condition.

Her cere is still like that now, and I’m wondering if the other half will eventually come off or the clear side will go back into breeding condition. I’m trying to remember if I’ve ever seen her out of condition, but as far as I can remember; she hasn’t. Well, since we owned her anyway.

2 responses »

  1. It’s funny you mention that because Girl Romeo just recently developed that brownish crust and I flipped out until I found out all it means is they are in breeding condition. She had never had her cere turn brown before, this is the first year it has happened. I’m keeping an eye on them to make sure they aren’t thinking of bambinos but they have never shown any signs of wanting to reproduce or even knowing how.

    Reply
    • That is funny! Koko’s cere has gotten a bit better now, but it is only a lighter brown now.

      As for your two, if you don’t know already; less daylight hours should help keep them from thinking about mating or breeding. πŸ™‚ With their great diets that you have them on though, I wouldn’t be surprised if they thought that they had enough food for babies! πŸ˜€

      Reply

Leave a Reply

