The Cage Chronicles – Day 7

Posted on

As I mentioned before, I wanted to try to work harder on getting these up and running again. So here’s an update post on everyone and what’s going on.

Today when I was changing their food and water, I let the budgies come out for some flying and exercising. Kasper and Froot Loop were both out and about after a few minutes, and Koko wasn’t far behind. She looked like she wasn’t going anywhere anytime soon, so I decided to entice her to come out with millet. That didn’t exactly work out so I just took her out by getting her to step up and gently cupping my hand around her body so she wouldn’t hurt herself if she decided that she didn’t want to come out. It worked, so they were all out together after about 5 minutes.

They actually were all very happy to be out and seemed totally comfortable sitting together on their old (travel) cage. The smaller cage is on top of a type of cabinet that is maybe 1 1/2 feet away from the bigger cage itself, and is close to being level with it so the budgies always like to fly their whenever they come out of their cage. They were preening and chirping away up there happily between flying and causing trouble for about 15 minutes until I finished moving things around in their cage, then I lured them back into their cage. They were all pretty cooperative with me today, so we are making some progress.

Koko still does the same trick with holding onto the cage with one foot then trying to step up with the other. She is really a clever little one.

Froot Loop is getting a bit more tame. Kasper and he both fly to my hand for some millet spray now. Sometimes they even fly to it when I don’t have millet spray, then they realize there isn’t any treat and take off. It’s funny to see how motivated they can get by food, I wonder if I can find anything else that motivates them.

Millet Spray = Yummm…
Leave a Reply

