My Feeding Method – Trial Session One

Posted on

On the first day of May I remember posting about my new idea of feeding the budgies their fresh foods 0n/near their landing cage in my post A New Discovery. I was supposed to update on my trial of this idea, but I never got around to it. Anyway, that weekend when I planned on carrying out my new idea; it didn’t really work out well.

Kasper looking innocent and cute.

I decided that the best way to do this would be to start with my normal routine first, then just to change the location of their dishes when I eventually got that far into cleaning. I would first replace their soiled papers from the bottom of their cage, and then take their food and water dishes out to clean and refill with fresh food and water. Then that’s when I would place the dishes on or near their landing cage so that the budgies would attempt to eat out of their cage for basically the first time. Well, when I eventually did this and sat down to wait for them to come out for their flight (and now feeding) time; they just waited there.

Kasper and Koko on the top of their "Master Cage". (Notice how Koko's wings are filling out quite nicely?)

Usually when the cage doors are open the budgies come out and fly around for a bit, then they hang out on their landing cage for a bit, just preening and interacting with each other, (Which was when I was hoping that they would notice the food and start eating) but this time they stayed inside of their cage and almost completely ignored the doors that were wide open. I ended up having to coax them out with some millet spray, but even when they got on their landing cage they ignored the food. I tried to wait it out until they caved in and started eating, but after a bit they just hopped back in their cage. This was the signal that they had enough for the day, so I put the dishes back in and just as I did so, the budgies started eating from the dishes.

The budgies' cage set-up, with their landing cage on the top right. (Pardon the emptiness of their cages, I'm still working on making some toys to fill them up)

I guess they really can be picky little guys, especially with their daily routine and normal activities. If budgies can be this particular about their routines, I can’t imagine how well the larger parrots can keep track of theirs’. Just one little change like where their food dishes are located can make a huge difference, and that is why it is important to be able to observe your bird’s behavior and figure out what is causing a change.

The change that was obviously keeping my budgies from eating was the unfamiliar location of their feeding area, so I’ll have to just adjust my converting method so that I can gradually change it to my new feeding method, giving them time to also adjust. Just like it takes time to gain your bird’s trust, it also takes time to make changes to their routine without any abrupt or confusing events.

Froot Loop trying to win over Koko. (Koko is trying to resist the cuteness here)

Although this trial didn’t go so well, I can try a different approach the next time I try feeding them outside of their cages. I think that the content of their food dishes can also be a factor in their decision on whether or not to eat too because if I tried something more tempting than their plain old seeds like I offered this time, they might change their minds and decide that it is safe to be eating from there.

Slowly creeping over to the camera... (This was his first real encounter with a camera up-close)

Hopefully the next trial session will be a bit more successful and we might make some progress.

And... ATTACK!

Leave a Reply

