The Cage Chronicles – Day 9

Posted on

Yesterday”s out of cage time was pretty fun. The budgies actually didn’t really come out, but they were at the cage doors most of the time. That’s because I was giving them all mist baths. Mist baths are the only type of baths that the budgies will take so far. I’ve read somewhere that budgies (and other birds) love the rain, and that is probably why they like mist baths so much. Mist baths are a lot like rain, so they naturally like them better than normal baths.

Koko, climbing up the side of the cage.

Kasper and Koko like mist baths better than Froot Loop does, but he seems to be warming up to it. Koko just flips out when she starts to enjoy her baths, and I literally mean flip out! She will flap her wings everywhere, bob her head and puff up. I love how cute they look when they puff out their feathers! They look like little walking fluff balls. Maybe one of these days I’ll be able to get a picture or video of them taking a bath.

They never get completely soaked, but wet enough to be able to keep themselves clean. Kasper is going through a molt right now and his head is just full of pin feathers, so that’s why I decided to give him daily mist baths. He’s probably the biggest fan of mist baths at this point, they soothe his itchiness and really make him more comfortable after drying off.

Kasper's pin feathers on his face. (One of his cheek dot feathers is growing in)

Something really surprised me though, Kasper decided that it was better to sit right next to the nozzle of the bottle. So he hopped right on my hand and started drinking from it! I kept still and slowly moved my other hand over so that he could perch more comfortably. He left after a couple minutes and then came back every now and then to either drink or get sprayed. I was proud of how clever he was to find the source of the water like that! Even a little thing like that can make my day, and I was very happy afterwards to be able to have another bonding experience with Kasper like that.

Kasper, hanging out on my finger. (He's missing all of his cheek dot feathers now!)

I’ll try to get a video of their bathing time, and maybe photos of wet birds!

2 responses »

  1. What adorable little guys!!!

    My budgie Charles HATES baths of any and all kinds. Sabrina won’t take a bath in a bowl or dish of water, but she loves to be sprayed!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

