Mini Foraging Bucket

Posted on

I decided to try a foraging idea from Fids Love Toys called the Foraging Bucket. I call it the Mini Foraging Bucket because it reminds me of those large stainless steel buckets that parrot owners usually get for foraging, except that it’s a much smaller version. I thought that it was a clever idea to use those ketchup cups for the bucket, since they are easy and fun to shred for your birds. Here is my attempt at making one:

And this is how I made it:

STEP ONE: Get the Materials

You’ll need…

  • Small Ketchup Cup – that fast food restaurants use.
  • Beads (I use 12, putting 6 on each string)
  • String (I used Hemp Twine)
  • Clip – for hanging on cage.
  • Scissors

STEP TWO: Put it Together!

  1. Poke two little holes on opposite sides of the ketchup cup.
  2. Cut a string off that is about 6 inches long. (For extra room in case of mistakes.)
  3. Put a string through one side of the cup and knot.
  4. String on 6 beads, of your choice.

  1. Tie the clip on tightly in the middle.
  2. String on the rest of the beads.
  3. Put the string through the other side of the hole and knot tightly.
  4. Place your birds favorite treat inside and/or other items to make it fun to forage through.

STEP THREE: Put it in the cage, and Ta-DA!

Froot Loop was a bit scared of it, but he still wanted to get in the picture. šŸ™‚

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Already Destroyed! « Kritter Krazy

  2. That is a really cool toy! I will have to try making some.

    Reply
    • I know! They are really easy and simple to make, you should definitely making some. The boys already went through their second one. I’ve never seen them like playing with a toy that much before.

      Reply

Leave a comment